October 1, 2013

NEWS FOR YOU… from the Iowa Department of Transportation

By Debra Carney
Driver License Supervisor, Office of Driver Services
Davenport, Iowa

The Iowa Department of Transportation is offering many of its services on line. In addition to obtaining information about what you need to get a license or where to go for a license, there are also a number of tasks you may complete on line provided you qualify. Here is a list of services offered:

• Change your mailing address
• Sign up for electronic renewal notification
• Purchase your certified driving record
• View your non certified driving record
• Pay a civil penalty
• View reinstatement requirements
• Provide self certification and medical card, if needed, of your Commercial driver’s license
• Renew your driver’s license on line

To ensure you are on the actual DOT website and not a commercial or even a fake site, look for https preceding the web address. The entire web address will show as https://www.mymvd.iowadot.gov. In Internet Explorer, you will see a lock icon in the Security Status bar. The Security Status bar is located on the right side of the Address bar. Any website that ends in .org is also not a valid DOT website. Should you access a commercial site, just cancel out and try again.

To access on line services you will need to provide your first and last name, date of birth, last five digits of your social security number and your driver’s license or identification card number. You may then select any of the services offered.

Changing your mailing address requires your enter your new or updated mailing address. Changing your residential address requires a trip to the driver’s license station.

Signing up for electronic renewal notification requires you submit a correct email address and check the box to allow email communications from the DOT.

There is no charge to view your non certified driving record, however, to purchase the certified copy you must use a credit or debit card for payment, the amount is $5.50, plus $1.50 convenience fee. Payment of civil penalties is also accepted on line. Again you must use a credit or debit card for payment. The amount will vary depending upon your record, there is a $1.50 convenience fee.

Customers who have had their license suspended or revoked may view their reinstatement requirements.

Commercial driver’s license holders may certify to the type of driving they do or may change their certification. Instructions are given on the website if a medical card must be provided.

Licenses may be renewed on line provided you qualify.

• Your license or ID may not be expired more than one year and 60 days.
• Your license or ID must expire within the next 180 days.
• Your last renewal was in person at a Driver License office.
• You are between the ages of 18 and younger than 70.
• You are a U.S. Citizen.
• You do not currently hold a permit to operate any vehicles.
• You license or ID is not “Valid without Photo”.
• Your vision, physical or mental condition has not changed in a way that affects your ability to operate a motor vehicle.
• Your driving privileges are not currently withdrawn.
• You are not required to present a medical or vision report.
• Your previous license was not an intermediate license.
• Your license contains certain vision or medical restrictions.
• You are not making changes to your name, date of birth, gender, license class or restrictions or your residential address.

The internet provides many options to make our lives easier. Unfortunately. when there is personal information or money involved a criminal element tries to take advantage. It’s up to us to make certain we are utilizing these options in a safe manner.

Contact your local driver’s license station or call 1-800-532-1121 if you have questions or need assistance.

Filed Under: News